RF urges six states to give up confrontation on Korean Peninsula

MOSCOW, August 8 (Itar-Tass) — Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov urged the six states dealing with the North Korean nuclear problem (Russia, China, the United States, Japan, North Korea and South Korea) to refrain from actions, which are aimed at instigating confrontation on the Korean Peninsula.

“Moscow and Seoul favour the solution of the nuclear problem on the Korean Peninsula by peaceful, political and diplomatic means through resuming the six-party talks,” Lavrov said after the talks with South Korean counterpart Kim Sung-hwan on Monday.

“We are actively working on creating such prerequisites,” the Russian minister added.

“All involved states should show maximum restraint, responsibility and foresight to give up any actions, which are capable of instigating confrontation,” Lavrov said.

“All parties should continue efforts aimed at solving all problems by political means,” the minister pointed out.

Leave a comment