Goal poll: FIFA’s goal-of-the-year contenders listed

Football superstars Lionel Messi, Neymar and Wayne Rooney have been included on the list of the best goal scored in 2011.

Messi is nominated for a strike featuring delicate skill for Barcelona against Arsenal in the Champions League. Neymar for a solo goal for Santos against Flamengo. While Wayne Rooney gets a nod for his brilliant overhead strike in a Premier League Manchester derby match.

Inter Milan’s Dejan Stankovic is nominated for volleying in from 50 meters against Schalke in the Champions League.

United States forward Heather O’Reilly found her name back-to back with the men’s football greats courtesy of a long-range kick against Colombia in the Women’s World Cup.

The winner will be decided by the voting at FIFA.com and francefootball.fr and announced on January 9 at FIFA’s annual gala.

Leave a comment