Schengen Area

On June 14, 1985, Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, West Germany and France signed the historic Schengen Agreement near the town of Schengen in Luxembourg.

It was supplemented by the Convention implementing the Schengen Agreement five years later. Together these treaties created Europe’s borderless Schengen Area.

The Schengen Area currently consists of 25 European countries.

Leave a comment