United Russia Nominates Governor Candidates

The ruling United Russia party has nominated candidates for governor in five Russian regions.

Under the new law on direct election of governors, the nominations are “filtered” by President Dmitry Medvedev before the candidates are officially eligible to run in elections.

United Russia has nominated three candidates for governor of Yaroslavl region: acting governor Sergei Yastrebov, Yaroslavl University president Alexandra Rusakova and Rostov Mayor Yury Boiko.

It also nominated three candidates for governor of Leningrad region. The list does not include the present day head of the region, Valery Serdyukov.

Instead the party has nominated: Alexander Drozdenko, a deputy governor and chairman of the regional State Property Management Committee; Andrey Molchanov, a senator in the Federation Council; and Alexander Khudilainen, chairman of the Legislative Assembly.

For Stavropol Territory, United Russia nominated acting Stavropol Governor Valery Zerenkov, the head of Stavropol’s Industry, Energy and Transport Ministry Dmitry Samatov and Pyatigorsk Mayor Lev Travnev.

For Buryatia, it nominated the internal republic’s current president, Vyacheslav Nogovitsyn, the deputy chairman of the government Pyotr Noskov and the CEO of Ikat-Plus Bato Ochirov.

For Perm Territory, it nominated the head of the terriorial government Mikhail Antonov, regional legislature chairman Valery Sukhikh and acting-governor Viktor Basargin, the former Minister of Regional Development.


Leave a comment