China, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan complete anti-terror drills

China, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan have conducted a joint anti-terror exercise in northwest China, Xinhua reported on Saturday.

Code-named Tianshan-II (2011), the exercise saw law enforcement and security personnel from the three member states of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) coordinate their efforts in locating and neutralizing “terrorists” in a border region.

This is the second SCO joint drill with China’s participation.

In August 2006, special forces from China and Kazakhstan conducted an anti-terror drill, Tianshan -I (2006), in Xinjiang.

Established in Shanghai in 2001, the SCO comprises six countries: China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

MOSCOW, May 7 (RIA Novosti) 

Leave a comment