Russia-led Security Bloc, UN Sign Cooperation Memorandum

Russia-led Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) and the UN Department of Peacekeeping Operations signed on Friday a memorandum on cooperation in prevention and resolution of conflicts.

The memorandum was signed within the frames of the 67th UN General Assembly in New York by CSTO chief Nikolai Bordyuzha and Herve Ladsous, the head of the UN Department of Peacekeeping Operations.

After the memorandum was signed, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, who heads the Russian delegation in New York, said that the document “will provide for effective efforts to maintain security and stability.”

Member states of the CSTO, established in 1992, are Russia, Belarus, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. Uzbekistan suspended its membership in the organization in June this year.


Leave a comment