Vettel wins India’s maiden Grand Prix

Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has won his 21st career Formula 1 race after crossing the finish line first at India’s first-ever Grand Prix.

­The German collected the so-called Grand Slam at Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, starting from pole, leading from start to finish the lap and setting the fastest lap time.

“Yes, boys. Yes, we did it,”
Vettel shouted over the team radio. “The first Indian Grand Prix. Fantastic challenge, we did it.”

McLaren’s Jenson Button overtook Mark Webber of Red Bull for third on the first lap and never gave the position away, seeing the checkered flag 8.4 seconds after Vettel.

Meanwhile, Webber failed to keep his third place, letting Fernando Alonso pass due to Ferrari’s better work on the last wave of pit stops.

Russia’s Vitaly Petrov stopped just a place away from the Top 10 and his Lotus Renault team leave India without a single point.  

There are two races remaining in the current F1 season, with all the titles already decided.

Vettel became the drivers’ champ for the second year in a row, while his Red Bull team successfully defended the Constructors’ Cup.

Leave a comment