Putin Announces New Russian Security Council

Russian President Vladimir Putin has named the new members of the national Security Council, the Kremlin said on Saturday.

The council is a presidential consultative body that works out decisions on national security affairs. It is composed of key ministers and agency heads.

Putin appointed Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev, Federal Security Council Chief Alexander Bortnikov, Presidential Administration head Sergei Ivanov, Interior Affairs Minister Vladimir Kolokoltsev, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matvienko, Duma Speaker Sergei Naryshkin, Russian Security Council Secretary Nikolai Patrushev and his deputy Rashid Nurgaliyev, Defense Minister Rashid Nurgaliyev, Foreign Intelligence (SVR) director Mikhail Fradkov and Boris Gryzlov new members of the council.


Leave a comment